On July 23 – the first day of the AIDS 2018 conference, – the events of the “Chase the virus, not people!” campaign were commenced by a press conference with the participation of representatives of main member-networks. Vitaly Djuma (ECOM), Anna Dovbakh (Eurasian Harm Reduction Association), Daniil Stolbunov (Teenergizer), Marina Avramenko (SWAN), Voytsekh Tomchinskiy (ECUO), and Yuliya Godunova (EWNA) took part in the said press conference.

ECOM’s Executive Director, Vitaly Djuma, “emphasized the critical situation regarding homophobia, stigma, and discrimination related to gays and other men who have sex with men in the region”. According to Vitaly,” 21% of all HIV cases in the EECA region are registered particularly among MSM. In conformity with the research conducted by ECOM, every fifth gay in Kiev and Saint Petersburg – and every fourth one in Tbilisi – lives with HIV. Apart from this, homosexual relationships remain criminalized in such countries like Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan. About a year ago, real cases of hunts on gays in Chechnya received wide publicity. Nonetheless, it was not a unique case: it became known that a number of raids against the LGBT had been conducted in Azerbaijan and that Tadzhikistan exercises an illegal, unofficial special registration of gays.

The HIV treatment situation in the EECA region remains catastrophic. Notably, only 13% of HIV+ gays receive treatment in Kyrgyzstan and Georgia; in Belarus, the said situation concludes just 6%. Only three countries in the region exercise pre-exposure pilot programmes”.

As such, the mentioned information points to the fact that Eastern Europe and Central Asia are in dire need of strategies that will be suitable for budgeting while aiming at effective HIV prevention and treatment of gays and MSM. Among other necessary measures, such strategies should be included, like programmes on de-stigmatization and decriminalization of the LGBT, sustainable financing of prevention programmes, educating the community about HIV and human rights issues.

The campaign’s facilitators note that their aim is to attract the global public’s attention to the issues of stigma and discrimination related to key population groups in the EECA region as the main barrier to an effective response to the spreading of HIV.

23 июля, в первый день конференции AIDS 2018, мероприятиям кампании Chase the virus, not people! («Преследуй вирус, а не людей»!) дала старт пресс-конференция с участием представителей главных сетей-участниц. В ней приняли участие Виталий Джума (ЕКОМ), Анна Довбах (Евразийской ассоциации снижения вреда), Даниил Столбунов (Teenergizer), Марина Авраменко (SWAN), Войцех Томчинский (ВЦО ЛЖВ) и Юлия Годунова (Евразийская женская сеть по СПИДу).

Исполнительный директор Евразийской коалиции по мужскому здоровью Виталий Джума подчеркнул критическую ситуацию в регионе с гомофобией, стигмой и дискриминацией в отношении геев и других мужчин, имеющих секс с мужчинами. По словам Виталия, 21% всех случаев ВИЧ в регионе ВЕЦА регистрируется именно среди МСМ; по данным проведенного ЕКОМ исследования, в Киеве и Санкт-Петербурге с ВИЧ живет каждый пятый гей, в Тбилиси – каждый четвертый. А в таких странах, как Узбекистан и Туркменистан, гомосексуальные отношения остаются криминализованными. Год назад широкую огласку получили случаи настоящей охоты на геев в Чечне, однако это не уникальный для региона случай: известно, что Азербайджане в последнее время было проведено несколько рейдов против ЛГБТ, а в Таджикистане ведется неофициальная и незаконная специальная регистрация геев.

В регионе ВЕЦА катастрофической остается ситуация с лечением: так, в Кыргызстане и Грузии только 13% ВИЧ-положительных геев получают лечение, в Беларуси это число составляет только 6%. Всего три страны региона имеют пилотные программы по доконтактной профилактике (ДКП).

Все это указывает на то, что в странах Восточной Европы и Центральной Азии нужно создавать стратегии эффективной для профилактики, лечения геев и других МСМ, для бюджетирования такой работы. Среди других необходимых мер – программы по дестигматизации и декриминализации ЛГБТ, устойчивое финансирование программ профилактики; образование сообщества в вопросах ВИЧ и прав человека.

По словам организаторов кампании, их цель – привлечение внимания мировой общественности к проблемам стигмы и дискриминации ключевых групп в нашем регионе как основного барьера для эффективного ответа на распространение ВИЧ.