The analysis of the cascade of continuous HIV care for MSM in five countries of the EECA region is the first study in the region to collect disaggregated data on the availability and quality of HIV prevention and treatment services for MSM. Previously, such data was only presented for the general population. Without disaggregating data for specific groups, it is not possible to see how stigma and discrimination affect the availability of existing services for key populations and marginalized groups.

The study was carried out in 2019 as part of the “Right to Health” program with the financial support of the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria.

As the analysis showed, only a small percentage of MSM undergo regular HIV testing. The reason for this is the low coverage of MSM with prevention programs. When the percentage of HIV+ MSM who know their HIV status is low, even when effective ARV therapy is available in the country, only a small number of those living with HIV start treatment in a timely manner, thereby protecting their own health and reducing the risk of the further spread of the epidemic.

In Armenia and Macedonia, only 54% of the estimated number of HIV+ MSM know their status, 26% in Georgia, 19% in Kyrgyzstan, and 6% in Belarus.

When developing cascades of services in Armenia, Belarus, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, and North Macedonia, researchers faced problems related to the quality and availability of data. There may be no data due to a lack of research, or simply due to the lack of services through which such data can be obtained.

At the same time, as part of this analysis, it was possible to collect and analyze information that reflects the availability of services and demonstrates the ratio between those who need services and those who receive them, thereby illustrating where there are gaps in coverage/availability and in the quality of HIV prevention and treatment services.

The results of the Overview of the results of national studies “Cascade of Continuous HIV Care for MSM in EECA” can be accessed here.

Скачать (PDF, 302KB)

Анализ каскада непрерывной помощи в связи с ВИЧ для МСМ в пяти странах региона ВЕЦА – это первое в регионе исследование, которое собрало дезагрегированные данные о доступности и качестве услуг профилактики и лечения ВИЧ для МСМ. Раньше такие данные представлялись только для населения в целом. Без дезагрегации данных по отдельным группам невозможно увидеть то, как стигма и дискриминация влияют на доступность существующих услуг для ключевых и других маргинализованных групп.

Исследование было проведено в 2019 году в рамках проекта «Право на здоровье», при финансовой поддержке Глобального фонда для борьбы со СПИДом, туберкулезом и малярией.

Как показал анализ, лишь небольшой процент МСМ проходят регулярное тестирование на ВИЧ. Причиной этого является низкий охват МСМ программами профилактики. Когда процент ВИЧ-позитивных МСМ, знающих свой ВИЧ-статус, низкий, то даже при наличии в странах региона эффективной и доступной АРВ терапии, лишь малая часть из живущих с ВИЧ начинают это лечение своевременно, защищая тем самым свое здоровье и снижая риск дальнейшего распространения эпидемии.

Так, в Армении и Македонии, только 54% от оценочного числа ВИЧ-позитивных МСМ знают о своем статусе, в Грузии – 26%, 19% в Кыргызстане, и 6% в Беларуси.

При составлении каскадов услуг в Армении, Беларуси, Грузии, Кыргызстане и Северной Македонии исследователи столкнулись с проблемой качества и наличия данных. Данные могут отсутствовать в силу нехватки исследований или просто из-за отсутствия услуг, в рамках которых эти данные могут быть получены.

В то же время, в рамках проведенного анализа удалось собрать и проанализировать информацию, которая отражает доступность услуг и демонстрирует соотношение между теми, кто нуждается в услугах, и теми, кто их получает, и, соответственно, показывает, где имеются пробелы в охвате/доступности и качестве услуг профилактики и лечения ВИЧ-инфекции.

Ознакомиться с результатами Обзора результатов национальных исследований «Каскадом непрерывной помощи в связи с ВИЧ для МСМ в ВЕЦА» можно по ссылке

Скачать (PDF, 2.06MB)