One of the key ECOM objectives is promoting access to strategic information on the health and wellbeing of gay men, other MSM and trans people in EECA region. That is why ECOM is actively engaged in all meetings and other activities, which help to improve the quality of services for the members of LGBT community in the region. One of such activities was the 10th European MSM Networking Meeting.

The meeting was organized by Deutsche AIDS Hilfe (DAH) and was dedicated to the results of the European study EMIS-2017 (the first study of such scale was conducted in 2010). It should be noted that many ECOM members were involved in collecting data for this study, and in the nearest future ECOM will prepare a summary report on EMIS-2017 results for a number of EECA countries.

The main goal of the meeting was to strengthen the linkages among different European organizations working in the area of sexual health of gay men and other MSM. In the beginning of the meeting, the participants made sure they are “on the same page” and discussed what topics are top priority in terms of sexual health of gay man and other MSM in Europe. The common priorities named were PrEP, self-testing, U=U (Undetectable equals Untransmittable campaign), chemsex, stigma from the side of medical workers and expanding the focus of activities from HIV and STIs to all the aspects of sexual health.

The next part of the meeting was discussing the practical use of the data collected within the study for the participants. Considering that there was a lot of data received and there are thousands of potential options for data analysis, the EMIS team suggested to the participants to choose the most important ones. Some people expect that the data will allow comparing the contexts in different countries, in big cities and small towns or analyzing the migration trends (gay tourism, labor migration, refugees), while others want to understand the motives and trends in building stable, in particular “open”, relationships… All the suggestions voiced were passed to the analytics team.

The second and third days of the meeting included presentation and discussion of the first processed data. There was an unhurried conversation, when every number was discussed and all the participants could ask their questions.

Slides with the first processed results may be found here:

  1. Presentation delivered at AIDS2018: http://sigmaresearch.org.uk/files/AIDS2018_EMIS2017_Schmidt+Weatherburn_MOSA4704.pdf
  2. First volume of the community report prepared by the study team: https://www.iwwit.de/sites/default/files/EMIS2017_CR01_english_ENDb.pdf

Gradually, several more community reports will be issued, and in early 2019 the full summary report is expected to be published as well as country reports and the regional report prepared with ECOM support.

Одна из главных задач ЕКОМ – поддерживать получение стратегической информации о здоровье и благополучии геев, других МСМ и транс людей в регионе ВЕЦА. Поэтому ЕКОМ принимает активное участие во всех встречах и мероприятиях, которые способствуют улучшению качества услуг для представителей ЛГБТ-сообщества в регионе. Одним из этих мероприятий была 10-ая Европейская координационная встреча по вопросам ВИЧ и МСМ.

Встреча была организована Deutsche AIDS Hilfe (DAH) и посвящена результатам всеевропейского исследования EMIS-2017 (первое такое масштабное исследование было сделано в 2010 году). Стоит отметить, что многие члены ЕКОМ участвовали в сборе данных для этого исследования, а в ближайшее время ЕКОМ будет готовить сводный обзор результатов EMIS-2017 по ряду стран региона ВЕЦА.

Основной целью встречи было укрепление связей между разными организациями в Европе, работающими с области сексуального здоровья геев и других МСМ. В начале встречи участники «сверили часы», обменявшись мнениями о том, какие темы являются наиболее приоритетными в рамках защиты сексуального здоровья геев и других МСМ в Европе. Среди общих приоритетов были такие темы, как PrEP, самотестирование, U=U (кампания “Не определяется, значит – не передаётся“), химсекс, стигма со стороны медиков и расширение рамок работы от исключительно ВИЧ и ИППП до заботы обо всех аспектах сексуального здоровья.

Следующим этапом встречи было обсуждение практической пользы от данных, полученных в рамках исследования, для участников. Так как данных очень много, и возможные направления анализа исчисляются тысячами, команда EMIS предложила участникам выбрать приоритетные. Кто-то ждет, что с помощью этих данных будет можно сравнить ситуацию в разных странах, в больших города с малыми, кому-то нужно видеть миграционные тренды (гей-туризм, рабочая миграция, беженцы), а кто-то хочет понимать мотивы и тренды в построении устойчивых отношений, включая «открытые»… Все собранные пожелания были переданы группе по анализу.

Второй и третий дни встречи были посвящены презентации и обсуждению первых обработанных данных. Это был неторопливый разговор, когда каждая цифра обсуждалась и все могли задать свои вопросы.

Слайды с первыми обработанными результатами можно найти по ссылкам ниже:

  1. Презентация, представленная на AIDS2018: http://sigmaresearch.org.uk/files/AIDS2018_EMIS2017_Schmidt+Weatherburn_MOSA4704.pdf
  2. Первый отчет для сообщества, подготовленный рабочей группой исследования: https://www.iwwit.de/sites/default/files/EMIS2017_CR01_english_ENDb.pdf

Постепенно будет выпущено еще несколько отчетов для сообщества, а в начале 2019 года планируется опубликовать полный сводный отчет и отчеты по странам, в том числе региональный отчет, который готовится при помощи ЕКОМ.