On Friday, March 22, Eurasian Coalition on Male Health (ECOM) — with the support of UNFPA regional office — finished the first training of trainers in the region which took place in Tbilisi to promote the MSMIT international manual.

For three days, 18 trainers, leaders, and activists of LGBT and MSM service organizations from Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan and Estonia have been discussing how this tool can help them to improve their comprehensive work with MSM in their countries.

‘MSMIT is the Bible of prevention for those who work with gays and other MSM. This tool is equally useful for human rights defenders, service providers and those who provide assistance for MSM,’ said Evgeny Pisemsky, the head of the NGO ‘Phoenix Plus’ (Orel, Russia).

In 2018, ECOM specialists and consultants developed a training manual introducing MSMIT, aimed at training community leaders. However, it is extremely important to advocate the approach and the services recommended by MSMIT, which means that training sessions and seminars should be held not only for activists, but also for government officials, health professionals, members of the country coordinating mechanisms(CCM).

This was the main objective of the training: to teach participants to hold events for different target groups and to adjust their duration, because officials do not always have an opportunity to spend 2 days at training. Sometimes they can have only 15 minutes for a CCM meeting, but even this limited time is a chance to draw attention to the needs and problems of the community.

‘I thought I had nothing to learn, and it turned out that I was wrong. I have been familiar with MSMIT for many years, but then the trainers made me see it in a different way and feel the need to use it. It was interesting to listen to the people telling about the experience of other countries, to think about its application in your own one. Super! Thank you for the invitation!’ said Roman Dudnik, the head of AFEW-Kazakhstan, sharing his impressions after the training.

For this training, ECOM invited exceptional professionals who are few and far between in our region. Denis Kamaldinov, one of the co-authors of the MSMIT training manual, and Kakhaber Kepuladze, one of the few trainers who helped to implement the manual in different countries of our region, showed the participants different aspects of MSMIT and inspired them to use it. Elena German, the Program Director of ECOM, also shared her secrets of the art of training.  

‘It is very pleasant when professional trainers work for professional people. The process was extremely pleasant,’ said Yuri Avdeev, a participant from Russia.

Of course, three days were obviously not enough to study such a major tool, combined with the training of coaching skills, but the training has achieved the main goal which was to interest everyone in the use of MSMIT at the national level in order to improve the life of the community, and this achievement was confirmed by the participants.

‘During the three days of immersion in the “anatomy of a MSMIT training” I received such a volume of valuable information and important experiences that I think I will continue to process them on my way home. The entire section of training work was organized in a very clear and effective manner which allowed me to enjoy the process. As a result, my expectations were exceeded. A lot of things contributed to it: a clear manner of developing and holding a training, where everything is provided in a necessary order and step by step; the presentation of the material which combined logic, clarity and visual aspects; individual support (because even a mature and confident trainer sometimes needs such a valuable resource as support). For me, the most important thing in the training of trainers was practice, it was invaluable experience. The key thing for me was the detailed training of coaching skills on particular cases. Feedback was also very important, and at the same time I realized what a huge amount of knowledge I have yet to gain!’ said Lachin Aliyev, the head of the Estonian network of PLWH, having finished the training.

В пятницу, 22 марта, в Тбилиси завершился первый в регионе тренинг для тренеров по продвижению международного руководства MSMIT, который Евразийская коалиция по мужскому здоровью (ЕКОМ) провела при поддержке регионального офиса UNFPA.

18 тренеров и тренерок, лидеров и активистов ЛГБТ- и МСМ-сервисных организаций из Армении, Азербайджана, Беларуси, Грузии, Казахстана, Кыргызстана, России, Таджикистана и  Эстонии, в течение трех дней говорили о том, как этот инструмент может помочь им улучшить комплексную работу с МСМ в их странах.

«MSMIT это профилактическая библия для тех, кто работает с геями и другими МСМ. Этот инструмент в равной степени полезен для правозащитников, поставщиков услуг и тех кто предоставляет сервисы для МСМ», – отметил Евгений Писемский, руководитель НПО «Феникс Плюс», Орёл, Россия.

В 2018 году специалисты и консультанты ЕКОМ разработали тренинговый модуль по ознакомлению с MSMIT, направленный на обучение лидеров сообщества. Однако, крайне важной является адвокация того подхода, и тех услуг, которые рекомендованы MSMIT, а это значит, что обучающие тренинги и семинары должны проходить не только для  активистов, но и для государственных чиновников, медиков, членов страновых координационных комитетов (СКК).

Именно это и стало основной задачей тренинга: научить участников и участниц проводить мероприятие для разных целевых групп, чтобы они были разные по длительности, ведь у чиновников не всегда есть возможность провести на тренинге 2 дня. Иногда они могут выделить только 15 минут на заседании СКК, но даже это ограниченное время –  шанс привлечь внимание к потребностям и проблемам сообщества.

“Я думал, что меня уже нечему научить, и оказалось, что ошибался. С MSMIT знаком много лет, но тут тренеры заставили увидеть его с другой стороны и почувствовать необходимость в его использовании. Интересно было слушать опыт других стран, продумывать его применение у себя в стране. Супер! Спасибо за приглашение!” – поделился впечатлениями от тренинга Роман Дудник, руководитель AFEW-Казахстан.

Для проведения этого тренинга, ЕКОМ пригласила таких профессионалов, которых в нашем регионе считаные единицы. Денис Камалдинов, один из соавторов тренингового модуля по ознакомлению с MSMIT и Кахабер Кепуладзе, один из немногих тренеров, помогавших внедрению руководства в различных странах нашего региона, открывали участникам и участницам различные стороны MSMIT и вдохновляли на его использование. Секретами тренерского мастерства со всеми делилась программная директорка ЕКОМ, Елена Герман.  

«Очень приятно, когда для профессиональных людей работают профессиональные тренеры. Получили огромное удовольствие от процесса», – Юрий Авдеев, участник из России.

Конечно, трех дней для изучения такого объемного инструмента, да еще и в сочетании с обучением тренерским навыкам было явно недостаточно, но основной цели – заинтересовать всех и использовании MSMIT на национальном уровне с целью улучшения жизни сообщества, тренинг достиг, что и подтвердили участники.

«За три дня погружения в «анатомию тренинга MSMIT» я получил такой объем ценной информации и важных переживаний, что, думаю, буду перерабатывать и дальше, по возвращению домой. Весь этап тренинговой работы был организован очень четко и эффективно, что позволило получить удовольствие от самого процесса. В результате, планка моих ожиданий была превышена, чему способствовало: наличие четкой методики разработки и проведения тренинга, где все было «разложено по полочкам» и «по шагам»; изложение материала, где сочеталась логичность, ясность и образность; индивидуальная поддержка (ведь даже зрелому и уверенному в себе тренеру иногда требуется такой ценный ресурс, как поддержка). Самым важным в тренинге тренеров для меня была практика – бесценный опыт. Наиболее важным для меня была детальная отработка тренерских навыков на примерах. Также очень важна была обратная связь, и при этом я понял, какое огромное количество знаний мне еще предстоит приобрести!» – рассказал после тренинга Лачин Алиев, руководитель Эстонской сети ЛЖВ.