In April 2019, ECOM’s Steering Committee held its latest in-person meeting.

The agenda of the meeting addressed a wide range of issues, including an evaluation of ECOM’s strategic plan, the organization of the 3rd Regional Consultation on HIV among MSM and Trans People in the EECA region, the organization of the next General Assembly meeting of ECOM members, and the election of new Steering Committee members.

During the meeting, Maria Makovetskaya, ECOM’s consultant for evaluating its strategic plan, presented the preliminary results of the mid-term evaluation of the implementation of the strategic plan and the progress made towards achieving its objectives, preliminary data obtained through an analysis of relevant documents, as well as interviews with ECOM members, Secretariat staff, and partners of the Coalition.

The final recommendations on amending the strategic plan of the Coalition will be submitted for approval by the General Assembly of ECOM members.

Commenting on the work carried out on the assessment of the Coalition’s Strategic Plan for 2017-2021, Steering Committee member, Svyatoslav Sheremet, noted:

“ECOM is a structure of dynamic development, and the situation around us, thanks to us, is changing rapidly in the countries of the region. We designed a strategic work plan for a five-year period, and we are now at its “equator”. So, we have stopped in the middle of it, assessed the situation, and reoriented its directions and objectives. In particular, we have decided to more clearly distinguish the MSM component and the transgender component, while explicitly strengthening the second of the two.”

ECOM’s Secretariat was entrusted with organizing several major events to be held at the end of 2019. These include the 3rd Regional Consultation on HIV among MSM and Trans People in the EECA Region, the next General Assembly meeting of ECOM members, and the election of new Steering Committee members.

Preparations for the Regional Consultation have already begun. A survey of Coalition members and partners has been conducted regarding what issues to cover during the event. The program of the event is currently in development, and the Consultation’s technical committee is holding periodic meetings.

In preparation for the election of new Steering Committee members, 2 months before the upcoming General Assembly meeting, individual ECOM members and representatives of the Coalition’s member organizations will be able to put forth their candidacy to become members of ECOM’s next Steering Committee. The elections for the new Steering Committee will be held as part of the Coalition’s General Assembly meeting on November 20, 2019 in Tallinn, Estonia.

В апреле 2019 года состоялось очередное очное заседание Руководящего совета ЕКОМ.

Повестка дня заседания совета была насыщенной – от оценки стратегического плана ЕКОМ до вопросов организации проведения 3-ей Региональной консультации по вопросам ВИЧ среди МСМ и транс людей в регионе ВЕЦА, организации очередного общего собрания членов ЕКОМ и выборов нового состава Руководящего совета.

В ходе заседания Мария Маковецкая, консультантка ЕКОМ по проведению оценки стратегического плана, представила предварительные результаты промежуточной оценки реализации стратплана и прогресс в достижении задач, предварительные данные, полученные в ходе анализа документов, а также интервью с членами ЕКОМ, сотрудниками Секретариата и партнерами Коалиции.

Финальные рекомендации по изменению стратегии Коалиции будут вынесены на утверждение Общего собрания ЕКОМ.

Комментируя работу по оценке работы по пересмотру стратплана Коалиции на 2017–2021 годы,  Святослав Шеремет, член Руководящего совета отмеил:

«ЕКОМ — структура динамичного развития, и ситуация вокруг нас и благодаря нам меняется в странах региона быстро. План своей стратегической работы мы ранее расписали на пятилетку, и сейчас мы на её “экваторе”. Поэтому мысленно приостановились в беге, оценили обстановку и откорректировали векторы и задачи. В частности, постановили выразительнее различать МСМ-направление и трансгендерное направление, с однозначным усилением второго из них».

Секретариату ЕКОМ поручено начать подготовку нескольких крупных мероприятий, которые состоятся в конце 2019 года. Среди них: проведение 3-ей Региональной консультации по вопросам ВИЧ среди МСМ и транс людей в регионе ВЕЦА, очередное очное общего собрания членов ЕКОМ и выборы нового состава Руководящего совета.

Подготовку Региональной консультации Секретариат ЕКОМ уже начал. В настоящий момент проведен опрос членов и партнеров Коалиции относительно тем, которые могут быть рассмотрены в ходе мероприятия, разрабатывается программа мероприятия, проводятся периодические заседания технического комитета.

В рамках подготовки к проведению выборов нового состава Руководящего совета ЕКОМ, за 2 месяца до Общего собрания, начнется самовыдвижение кандидатур в члены нового состава РС из числа персональных членов ЕКОМ и лиц, представляющих на Общем собрании организации. Выборы членов Руководящего совета пройдут в рамках Общего собрания Коалиции 20 ноября 2019 года, в Таллинне, Эстония.