We are pleased and proud to present another project led by ECOM in cooperation with national partners in Eastern Europe and Central Asia, and with the support of the Elton John AIDS Foundation.

The project is designed and developed taking into account evidence-based challenges, including the widespread invisibility and neglect of trans* people in the HIV response in the EECA region, the limited trans*-specific prevention projects, the lack of strategic information, the low level of awareness about HIV among trans* communities, widespread transphobia and discrimination, and the use of a pathologizing approach at the state level.

As the project impact, we envisage that trans* people will empower themselves and benefit from comprehensive, trans*-competent services, when HIV response measures meet the needs of trans* people with the support of sensitized decision-makers and trained experts.

I am delighted to be involved in such an important, health-focused project “by trans* people for trans* people”.  The fact that this project is aimed at a closed part of society, people whose worldview does not fit into the framework of a binary system and/or whose gender identity differs from that assigned at birth, elicits even more positive emotions. This stigmatized part of society faces discrimination on a daily basis. And in many respects, for these reasons, health issues are far from being the first thing they care about. The fact that this project involves people from the trans* community will increase trust in the project, – says Lera Tatyanina, Project Coordinator at “T9 NSK”, a national partner of the project.

In order to overcome challenges and achieve an impact, ECOM and national partners have developed the following goals and objectives:

Project goal: Expanding and strengthening HIV services for trans* people in EECA through community mobilization and creating an enabling environment.

Objective 1: Trans* community mobilization and empowerment

Includes national advocacy and leadership schools, informational campaigns, sensitization of health experts and decision-makers.

Objective 2: Accumulation of strategic information among trans* people

The strategy involves conducting unique research with trans* people: estimating trans* population sizes in two cities of the region, assessing HIV prevalence, assessing the needs of trans* masculine and non-binary people.

Objective 3: Trans* participation in national HIV programming and decision-making

Including training and support for representatives of trans* communities in HIV coordinating bodies, development of a unique model package of comprehensive, trans*-competent services, advocacy for the inclusion of trans* people in national HIV strategies.

In Russia, dialogue has now begun on the inclusion of trans* people in HIV programs at the national level. This project will provide an opportunity to strengthen the capacity of trans* organizations to combat HIV infection, to fully participate in decision-making on the development of a package of trans*-oriented HIV-services, and will also provide the trans* community, not only in Russia, but in the entire EECA region, with tools for further work, – says Anton Macintosh, member of the Working Group of Trans* People at ECOM, Coordinator of the trans* initiative group, “T-Action”, a national partner of the project.

As a result, participants and partners of the project will develop a number of new policy documents, develop population size estimations, formulate national packages of comprehensive HIV services for trans* people, and ensure that trans* people are recognized as a key population in national responses. In a broader context, we will ensure a new level of visibility and awareness, influence the mobilization and self-empowerment of trans* communities, and lay the foundations for the institutionalization of competent and trans*-specific services.

You can obtain detailed information about the “Trans* Map in EECA” project in our informational project brochure.

The geography of the project covers five countries, although the results of the project will have an impact on the entire region: Armenia, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, and Ukraine.

We are pleased to introduce our national partners:

* When we say trans* people, we are speaking about people with an unlimited number of gender identities that are partially, completely, temporarily or permanently different from their sex assigned at birth. More information can be found here: https://ecom.ngo/wp-content/uploads/2020/01/glossary-trans-people.pdf

Мы счастливы и горды представить очередной проект, лидируемый ЕКОМ совместно с национальными партнерами Восточной Европы и Центральной Азии, и поддержанный Фондом Элтона Джона по борьбе со СПИДом.

Проект сконструирован и построен с учетом вызовов, основанных на фактах, включающих широкую невидимость и игнорирование транс* людей в процессах противодействия ВИЧ в регионе ВЕЦА, ограниченные транс*специфичные профилактические проекты, отсутствие стратегической информации, низкую осведомленность о ВИЧ в транс* сообществах, широко распространенную трансфобию и дискриминацию, использование патологизирующего подхода на государственном уровне.

Воздействием проекта мы видим то, что транс* люди повысят свой потенциал и смогут пользоваться комплексными транс*компетентными услугами, когда меры в ответ на ВИЧ будут соответствовать потребностям транс* людей при поддержке сенситизированных людей, принимающих решения и обученных экспертов.

Я рада принять участие в таком важном проекте, сфокусированном на здоровье людей “от транс-людей для транс-людей”. Ещё больше положительных эмоции вызывает тот факт, что проект направлен на закрытую часть общества, людей чьё мировосприятие не укладывается в рамки бинарной системы, и/или гендерная идентичность отличается от приписанной при рождении. Эта стигматизированная часть общества, ежедневно сталкивается с дискриминацией. И во многом по этим причинам вопросы здоровья их волнуют далеко не в первую очередь. Тот факт, что в проекте принимают участие люди из транс-сообщества, позволит повысить доверие к проекту, – Лера Татьянина, координаторка проекта от «Т9 НСК», национального партнера проекта.

Для преодоления вызовов и достижения воздействия ЕКОМ и национальные партнеры выработали следующие цель и задачи:

Цель проекта: расширение и усиление услуг по ВИЧ для транс* людей в ВЕЦА через мобилизацию сообществ и создание благоприятной среды.

Задача 1: Мобилизация и повышение потенциала сообществ

Включающее в себя национальную адвокацию и лидерские школы по ВИЧ, информационные кампании, сенситизация экспертов здравоохранения и людей, принимающих решения.

Задача 2: Создание стратегической информации вместе с транс* людьми

Стратегия предполагает проведение уникальных исследований с транс* людьми: оценки количества в двух городах региона, оценки распространенности ВИЧ, оценки потребностей транс* маскулинных и небинарных людей.

Задача 3: Участие транс* людей в создании национального ответа на ВИЧ и принятии решений

Включающее обучение и поддержку представительниц(-лей) транс* сообществ в координирующих ВИЧ органах, создание уникального модельного пакета комплексных, транс* компетентных услуг, адвокация включения транс* людей в национальные ВИЧ стратегии.

 В России сейчас начался диалог о включении транс*людей в программы по ВИЧ на национальном уровне. Этот проект даст возможность повысить потенциал транс-организаций для противодействия ВИЧ-инфекции, полноценно участвовать в принятие решений по разработке пакета транс-ориентированных услуг по ВИЧ, а также даст транс-сообществу не только России, но и всего региона ВЕЦА инструментарий для дальнейшей работы, – Антон Макинтош, член Рабочей Группы Транс* людей в ЕКОМ, координатор транс-инициативной группы Т-Действие, национального партнёра проекта.

 В результате участники и партнеры проекта разработают ряд новых политических документов, подготовят оценки численности населения, сформулируют национальные пакеты комплексных услуг в связи с ВИЧ для трансгендеров и обеспечат признание трансгендеров в качестве ключевой группы населения в национальных ответах. В более широком контексте мы обеспечим новый уровень видимости и информированности, будем влиять на мобилизацию и саморазвитие транс* сообществ, заложим основы для институционализации компетентных и транс* специфичных услуг.

Детальную информацию о проекте «Транс*Карта в ВЕЦА» вы можете прочитать в нашем информационной проектной брошюре.

Географию проекта определяют пять стран, хотя результаты проекта окажут воздействие на весь регион: Армения, Грузия, Кыргызстан, Россия, Украина. 

Мы рады представить наших национальных партнеров:

* Говоря транс* люди, мы говорим о людях с неограниченным количеством гендерных идентичностей, частично, полностью, временно или навсегда отличающихся от пола, приписанного при рождении. Больше можно узнать здесь: https://ecom.ngo/wp-content/uploads/2020/01/glossary-trans-people.pdf