The Eurasian Coalition on Male Health (ECOM) presents the results of analyses unique to the EECA region concerning the national legislation in Armenia, Belarus, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, and Macedonia, which was conducted within the framework of the project called “Right to Health,” backed by the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis, and Malaria.

Within the framework of the analyses, existing legislative barriers were discovered that hinder gays, other MSM, and trans people from realising their right to health – access to preventive and treatment services related to HIV, in particular.

During the practice of law analysis, judicial practice, as well as activist reports, information by organisations that document human rights violation cases and conduct human rights defense, press statements, and NGO reports to international human rights bodies were taken into consideration.

Both the legislation and litigation were analysed for their correspondence to international and European standards related to SOGI and HIV. In addition, an analysis of recommendations, which were received by states from UN treaty bodies were conducted, as well as their realisation by the respective governments of the given countries.

The information presented in the given document may be useful for both NGOs and activist communities, as well as for governmental representatives during the planning of advocacy processes and promotion of rights of gays, other MSM, and trans people and for overcoming barriers that hinder their access to services.

Yuri Yoursky, Specialist for Legal Issues at ECOM, one of the analysis authors, specified that:

Every country is unique but, at the same time, has a specific set of legislative characteristics. Nonetheless, a common negative tendency is observed in these five countries and, most likely, in the whole EECA region. The said tendencies, among others, include: HIV criminalization, governmentally supported homophobia and transphobia, absence of a crosscutting anti-discriminatory legislation, absence of governmentally funded programs for LGBT organisations.

ECOM partners that are included in the realisation of the “Right to Health” program used the acquired data from the Analyses for the development of advocacy plans for enhancing the legal environment in Armenia, Belarus, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, and Macedonia.

You may get acquainted with the Analyses of the national legislation concerning rights of the LGBT and HIV in the said five countries in ECOM’s library under the following links:

Armenia        Belarus         Georgia         Kyrgyzstan          Macedonia

 

For your reference:

The Eurasian Coalition on Male Health is conducting the realization of the “Right to Health” program, the aim of which is to further the growth of the numbers of MSM and trans people who have a constant access to the continuum of services related to HIV in Central and Eastern Europe, as well as in Central Asia.

The project’s main goals are the promotion of the increase in the level of participation of MSM and trans communities in decision-making processes connected to national measures for HIV-infection prevention; strengthening the potential of MSM and trans communities and organisations by means of their structure, technical competence, and fundraising skills enhancement; development of an enabling environment for the conduction of HIV services for MSM and trans people by means of decreasing the stigma and discrimination, human rights protection and overruling of legal barriers.

The legal environment analysis is conducted by ECOM within the annual monitoring framework in five EECA countries with the support of local organisations: Humanitarian NGO “New Generation” (Armenia), Republican Youth Public Organization “Vstrecha” (Belarus), Equality Movement (Georgia), Public Association “Kyrgyz Indigo” (Kyrgyzstan), and Stronger Together, Association for Support of People Living with HIV (Macedonia).

Евразийская коалиция по мужскому здоровью (ЕКОМ) представляет результаты уникального для региона ВЕЦА анализов национальных законодательств в Армении, Беларуси, Грузии, Кыргызстане и Македонии, которые проводились в рамках проекта «Право на здоровье» при поддержке Глобального фонда для борьбы со СПИДом, туберкулезом и малярией.

В рамках анализа были выявлены существующие законодательные барьеры, препятствующие геям, другим мужчинам, практикующим секс с мужчинами, а такжетранс людям в реализации их права на здоровье, в частности доступе к услугам профилактики и лечения ВИЧ.

При анализе правовой практики во внимание принимались как судебная практика, так и сообщения активистов, информация организаций, занимающихся документированием случаев нарушений прав человека и их защитой, сообщения в прессе, отчёты неправительственных организаций в международные правозащитные органы.

Как законодательство, так и правоприменительная практика анализировались на предмет их соответствия международным и европейским стандартам по СОГИ и ВИЧ. Также проводился анализ рекомендаций, полученных странами договорными органами ООН и их выполнение правительствами данных стран.

Представленная в настоящем документе информация может быть полезной как для неправительственных организаций и активистов сообществ, так и представителей государства, при планировании адвокационных процессов и продвижении прав геев, других МСМ и транс людей, и преодоления барьеров, препятствующих их доступу к сервисам и услугам.

Юрий Йорский, специалист по правовым вопросам ЕКОМ, один из авторов анализа, отметил, что:

– Каждая страна уникальна, но при этом имеет специфический набор законодательных характеристик. Тем не менее, наблюдается общая негативная тенденция в этих 5 странах, и, предположительно, во всем регионе ЦВЕЦА. К ним относятся: криминализация ВИЧ, поддерживаемая государством гомофобия и трансфобия, отсутствие комплексного антидискриминационного законодательства, отсутствие программ государственного финансирования ЛГБТ-организаций.

Партнеры ЕКОМ, вовлеченные в реализацию программы «Право на здоровье», использовали полученные данные Анализов для разработки адвокационных планов по улучшению правовой среды в Армении, Беларуси, Грузии, Кыргызстане и Македонии.

Ознакомиться с Анализами национальных законодательств связанными с правами ЛГБТ и ВИЧ в пяти странах ВЕЦА можно в библиотеке ЕКОМ по следующим ссылкам:

Армения       Беларусь         Грузия          Кыргызстан          Македония

 

Для справки:

Евразийская коалиция по мужскому здоровью реализует программу «Право на здоровье», цель которой – способствовать росту числа МСМ и транс людей, имеющих постоянный доступ к континууму услуг по ВИЧ в Центральной и Восточной Европе и Центральной Азии.

Основными задачами проекта является содействие росту уровня участия МСМ и транс-сообществ в процессах принятия решений, связанных с национальными мерами противодействия ВИЧ-инфекции; укрепление потенциала организаций МСМ и транс-сообществ путем укрепления их организационной структуры, технической компетенции и навыков привлечения средств; развитие благоприятной среды для оказания услуг по ВИЧ для МСМ и транс людей путем снижения стигмы и дискриминации, защиты прав человека и преодоления правовых барьеров.

Анализ правовой среды проводится ЕКОМ в рамках ежегодного мониторинга в пяти странах ВЕЦА при поддержке местных организаций: Гуманитарная НПО «Новое Поколение» (Армения), Республиканское молодежное общественное объединение «Встреча» (Беларусь), Equality Movement (Грузия), Общественное Объединение «Кыргыз Индиго» (Кыргызстан) и Stronger Together, Association for Support of People Living with HIV (Македония).