The participants of the AIDS 2018 conference, which is being held in Amsterdam, have discussed the issues of criminalization of LGBT people and its impact on the HIV epidemic globally.

The Executive Director of M-Pact (formerly known as the Global Forum on MSM and HIV (MSMGF)), George Ayala, has shared the information about the organisation’s efforts to advocate and fight for gays, MSM, and LGBT people to enjoy their right to health.

M-Pact is ECOM’s paramount partner and it also upholds the coalition’s activity in the countries of Eastern Europe and Central Asia. In particular, M-Pact supports the legislative recognition of same-sex partnerships in Estonia, the adoption of anti-discriminatory legislation in Georgia and the passage of a law that will allow trans people to officially change their documentary names in Armenia. George Ayala has emphasized the importance of financing in advocacy, as well as the priority of acting not only on state-levels but of combining the efforts of diverse countries and organisations in the region also.

As per UN data, currently, not less than 76 countries around the globe have laws that criminalize voluntary same-sex sexual relationships. In the EECA region, such states happen to be Uzbekistan and Tadzhikistan. Many countries still exercise the so-called “conversion therapy” on LGBT people: they are forcefully sterilized and subjected to other involuntary medical procedures. The mentioned not only directly violates human rights but also acts as a significant obstacle for the resolution of the HIV/AIDS issue in the world. As a result of stigma, discrimination, and legislative persecution, LGBT people face an obstructed access to prophylaxis, testing, consultation, treatment and other services related to HIV.

На проходящей в Амстердаме международной конференции по СПИДу AIDS-2018 участники обсудили вопросы криминализации ЛГБТ-людей и ее влияния на эпидемию ВИЧ в мире.

Исполнительный директор организации M-PACT (ранее – Глобальный форум по МСМ и ВИЧ – MSMGF) Джордж Айяла рассказал об усилиях организации по адвокации и борьбе за право на здоровье для геев, МСМ и ЛГБТ-людей.

M-PACT является важным партнером ЕКОМ и поддерживает работу коалиции в странах Восточной Европы и Центральной Азии. В частности, в Грузии M-PACT поддерживает антидискриминационные законы, в Армении – закон о возможности для транс людей официально изменить имя в документах. Джордж Айяла подчеркнул необходимость финансирования адвокации, а также важность работы не только на уровне стран, но и объединения усилий разных стран и организаций в регионе.

По данным ООН, сегодня по меньшей мере в 76 странах мира существуют законы, криминализующие добровольные однополые сексуальные отношения. В странах ВЕЦА однополые отношения криминализованы в Узбекистане и Таджикистане. Во многих странах сохраняются практики так называемой «конверсионной терапии» для ЛГБТ-людей, их насильно стерилизуют и проводят другие недобровольные медицинские практики. Все это не только прямо нарушает права человека, но и является значительным препятствием для решения проблемы ВИЧ/СПИДа в мире. В результате стигмы, дискриминации и законодательного преследования у ЛГБТ ограничен доступ к профилактике, тестированию, консультированию, лечению и другим услугам, связанным ВИЧ.