ECOM’s Executive Director Vitaly Djuma is appointed a new member of the Developed Countries NGO Delegation to the Board of the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis, and Malaria.

Since its creation in 2002, the Global Fund has been the single largest multilateral funder of the global response to HIV, TB and malaria. In 2017 alone, 17.5 million people were on HIV antiretroviral therapy; 5 million people on TB treatment; and 197 million mosquito nets were distributed with the Global Fund support.

The Developed Country NGO constituency at the Global Fund Board includes representatives of NGOs based and headquartered in developed countries of the European Union, the United States, Canada, Japan, and Australia. Bringing the voices and needs of civil society to the Global Fund, the Developed Country Delegation aims to ensure that the Global Fund remains ambitious, transparent, accountable and achieves maximum impact.

“Since its inception, the Global Fund successfully championed meaningful involvement of affected populations in the national and global responses to the three epidemics. It was the Global Fund that showed how community representatives and government officials should and could talk as equals,” said Vitaly Djuma, Executive Director of ECOM. “I am honored to join the Developed Country NGO Delegation. Together with other members, I will work to ensure that while adopting its approaches in a changing global health environment, the Global Fund not only continues but strengthens its commitment to most affected communities, including gay men and other men who have sex with men, transgender people, people who use drugs, and sex workers.”

2019 is a year of the Global Fund’s Sixth Replenishment, crucial to sustain and accelerate the progress achieved by the Fund in ensuring access to prevention and treatment for all people living with, and affected by, the three diseases. For the communities of gay and bisexual men as well as trans people, this includes sustainable and secure support to comprehensive package of human rights oriented services that are needed to halt the HIV epidemic which continues in our communities around globe. To achieve this, ECOM will closely work with the Developed Country NGO Delegation as well with the other two civil society delegations at the Global Fund Board.

Tallinn, Estonia

Исполнительный директор ЕКОМ Виталий Джума отобран членом Делегации НПО развитых стран Делегации НПО развитых стран в Правлении Глобального фонда для борьбы со СПИДом, туберкулезом и малярией.

С момента создания в 2002г. Глобальный фонд стал самым большим многосторонним международным донором глобального ответа на эпидемии ВИЧ, туберкулеза и малярии. В одном только 2017 годублагодаря поддержке Глобального фонда 17,5 миллионов людей, живущих с ВИЧ, находились на антиретровирусной терапии,5 миллионов людей получали лечение туберкулеза и было распространено 197 миллионов противомоскитных сеток.

Делегация НПО развитых стран в Правлении Глобального фонда включает представителей НПО, находящихся и/или имеющих центральные офисы в развитых странах Европейского Союза, США, Канады, Японии и Австралии. Отражая мнение и потребности гражданского общества, Делегация НПО развитых стран стремится добиться того, чтобы Глобальный фонд оставался амбициозным, прозрачным, подотчетным и достигал максимального влияния.

«С момента зарождения Глобальный фонд успешно продвигал принципы значимого участия затронутых групп населения  в национальных и международном ответе на три эпидемии. Именно благодаря Глобальному фонду мы увидели, как сообщества и власти должны и могут разговаривать на равных», – сказал Виталий Джума, исполнительный директор ЕКОМ, – «Для менячесть присоединиться к Делегации НПО развитых стран. Вместе с другими членами команды я буду работать на то, чтобы, адаптируя свои подходы в меняющейся глобальной системе здравоохранения, Глобальный фонд не только подтвердил, но и усилил свою приверженность наиболее затронутым сообществам, включая геев и других мужчин, имеющих секс с мужчинами, транс людей, людей, употребляющих наркотики и секс-работников».

В 2019-мгоду состоится шестое пополнение Глобального фонда, которое критически важно для того, чтобы поддержать и усилить достижения Глобального фонда в обеспечении профилактики и лечения для всех людей, живущих с тремя заболеваниями или затронутых ими. Для сообществ геев и бисексуальных мужчин, а также транс людей это означает устойчивую поддержку всеобъемлющего пакета услуг, основанных на соблюдении прав человека, которые нужны для того, чтобы остановить эпидемию ВИЧ, стремительно развивающуюся в наших сообществах по всему миру. ЕКОМ будет работать над этим в тесном сотрудничестве с Делегация НПО развитых стран, а также двумя другими делегациями гражданского общества в Правлении Глобального фонда.

Таллинн, Эстония