ECOM has prepared a comparative analysis of national legislation related to LGBT rights and HIV in Armenia, Belarus, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, and North Macedonia for the period 2017 to 2019.

The analysis contains information on barriers that prevent gay men, other MSM and trans* people from fully realizing their rights, and also illustrates trends related to overcoming these barriers, both in terms of legislative amendments, as well as the development of appropriate law enforcement practices.  

Examining the trends in each country of the region, the results of the analysis indicate that national activists in Armenia have made important achievements with the development of a system for funding social services through state orders and the creation of a safe environment for testing and subsequent counseling.

On the other hand, negative social trends of the region, including attempts to submit amendments to criminal codes to parliaments, aimed at restricting the freedom of speech of LGBT people (i.e. provisions on the so-called “prohibition of gay propaganda”), have also affected Armenia during this period.

National activists in Belarus have also achieved significant success in their work, including systematic advocacy at the UN level, which resulted in recommendations to the government in the form of clear action plans to address “problem areas.”  

Out of all the countries analyzed, the greatest number of changes between 2017 and 2019 occurred in Georgia. The following developments are worth noting: the removal of barriers in the healthcare field; the decision of the Constitutional Court of Georgia regarding the unconstitutionality of bans on blood donation by gay men, other MSM and trans* people;  trainings for police to strengthen their capacity to investigate hate crimes; work with the community to increase the number of such cases that are reported to police; capacity building among civil society to protect LGBT rights, including efforts aimed at increasing visibility and the ability to exercise rights, such as freedom of speech and freedom of peaceful assembly, on an equal basis with other groups;  and, the consolidation of efforts of LGBT and human rights activists during the organization of Tbilisi Pride 2019 and compromises with authorities in relation to the event.

An analysis of the changes that occurred in Kyrgyzstan demonstrates several positive trends, including the intensification and consolidation of the work of local LGBT leaders and other human rights organizations, which led to discussions on the development and adoption of an antidiscrimination law, including the inclusion of this issue in a government plan.   

North Macedonia is the country where  the most important legislative changes have taken place, namely the inclusion of a specific mention of SOGI as grounds for protection from discrimination in the national anti-discrimination law, the inclusion of SOGI in the criminal code in order to establish liability for the commission of homophobic and transphobic crimes, and the creation of a working group for the subsequent harmonization of other legislation to strengthen the system of protection against discrimination.

Скачать (PDF, 262KB)

The full version of the analysis for each individual country, as well as of general regional trends, can be viewed here:

Русская версия

English version

ЕКОМ подготовила сравнительный анализ национальных законодательств, связанных с правами ЛГБТ и ВИЧ в Армении, Беларуси, Грузии, Кыргызстане и Северной Македонии в период с 2017 по 2019 годы.

Анализ содержит информацию о барьерах, препятствующих геям, другим МСМ и транс* людям в полной мере пользоваться своими правами, а также иллюстрирует тенденции в поиске решений по преодолению этих барьеров, как путем внесения изменений в законодательство, так и через развитие соответствующей правоприменительной практики.

Отмечая тенденции в каждой отдельной стране региона, результаты анализа свидетельствуют, что важным достижением национальных активистов Армении является создание системы финансирования социальных услуг через госзаказ и создание безопасных условий как для тестирования, так и для последующего консультирования.

С другой стороны, негативные общественные тенденции в регионе, в том числе попытки вынести на рассмотрение парламентов дополнения в Уголовный Кодекс, направленных на сужение свободы слова для ЛГБТ (положение о так называемом «запрете гей-пропаганды») — тоже не обошли стороной Армению в минувший период.

Значительным успехом работы национальных активистов Беларуси является системное адвокатирование на уровне комитетов ООН и получение рекомендации, которые в результате возвращаются правительству в виде чётких планов действий, охватывающих «проблемные зоны».

Наибольшее количество изменений, среди анализируемых стран, в 2017 – 2019 года произошло в Грузии. Среди них стоит отметить устранение барьеров в сфере охраны здоровья, решение Конституционного суда Грузии о не конституционности запрета быть донорами крови для геев, других МСМ и транс* людей; работа, направленная на обучение полиции и повышение их потенциала в расследовании преступлений на почве ненависти, а также работа с сообществом, направленная на увеличение количества случаев, сообщаемых в полицию; развитие гражданского общества и его потенциала в защите прав ЛГБТ, в том числе усилия направленные на повышение видимости и возможность пользоваться такими правами как свобода слова и свобода мирных собраний наравне с другими группами; консолидация активистов и правозащитников во время организации Тбилиси Прайда 2019 года и поиск компромиссных решений с властями.

Анализируя изменения в Кыргызстане, среди положительных факторов – это активизация и консолидация как местных лидеров движения за права ЛГБТ, так и других правозащитных организаций, которая привела к вынесению вопроса о разработке и принятии закона о защите от дискриминации на повестку дня, в том числе и внесению его в правительственный план.

Северная Македония – это страна, где произошли самые важные законодательные изменения, а именно включение конкретного упоминания СОГИ в перечень защищённых от дискриминации признаков в национальный закон о запрете дискриминации, включение СОГИ в уголовный кодекс для установления ответственности за гомофобные и трансфобные преступления и создание рабочей группы для последующей гармонизации оставшегося законодательства для усиления системы защиты от дискриминации.

Скачать (PDF, 275KB)

Ознакомиться полной версией анализа по каждой отдельной стране, а также общие тенденции в регионе можно по ссылке:

Русская версия
English version